Let me tell you today about my trip to Germany. It took a mere 8 hours for me to reach Berlin via Lufthansa and check in the Grand City Hotel Berlin East (Cut price deal I tell you) and a hot coffee later, I caught up on my sleep for a few hours.

My eyes opened at around 5 in the morning which started with beer. I had heard that Germany was a root land of the finest brewed beer and one sip of Beck’s confirmed that. I was bloody excited to learn that the entry to IFA 2012 would be open from 8 AM. After calling in one of my acquaintances, I reached the venue at Messedamm 22 where my company exec Pass was ready. I spent a couple of hours at the hall near entrance and went through a couple of brochures and some tradeshow magazines.

After a press alert, I found my way to LG’s designated exhibitor hall 11.2 for the first product unveiling. And although I was expecting the LG 4K UD 3D TV, LG vowed the crowd with its latest unveiling the LG Personal Smart TV TM2792. This Smart TV is the latest in line of the LG Cinema 3D range currently on offer and even though it’s the smallest TV at just 27 inches, the latest innovation for the Korean consumer electronics firm is a pint-sized dynamite. The design is familiar with the same narrow bezel IPS frame and ribbon stand which gives the impression that the TV is suspended in mid-air!

Coming to the technical specs, the TV supports full 1920×1080 resolution and is built on LG’s revolutionary flicker-free passive Cinema 3D platform with two 7W speakers for 3D sound zooming. It also has Smart TV functionality along with features like DLNA, Wi Fi and Wi Di. The only thing unknown is the price aspect and we might soon get to know about that with September being touted as its tentative launch month. Also on show was the GS 9366 Side by Side Refrigerator with Eco Door technology in smart brushed steel finish.

Next stop after that was Hall 5.1 which had Samsung Electronics showing off the 75” ES9090 and 65” ES8090 Smart TV’s with unique features like Allshare to enjoy media on the TV and Smart View feature for mobile entertainment. The outer frame consisted of a slim bezel and a very solid profile. The company will also be flaunting its flagship Galaxy S3 in the aftermath of the Samsung-Apple patent dispute with Jelly Bean OS update for it coming soon.

Even though I enjoy writing these little entries, the fact is that there is so much to experience here that I would rather write after I get back to my hotel room. Till then, let me bask in the latest gadgets in this Consumer Electronics Fair and I will get back to you guys in a bit.

