I have always derived pleasure from getting to experience the latest technologies in person but it has been mostly about raving of the specs and features than getting into intricacies. And since everybody has Smartphones these days, one of my colleagues just kept comparing his entry level HTC Explorer with my LG Optimus P725. At first, I just gave a hearty laugh at his naivety but once I used his phone for some time, I realized he wasn’t lying.

That is the first time Mr. Techie Boy Shivansh made me aware of Overclocking in CPU’s and Android Smartphones. In layman terms, overclocking is simply altering the operating clock speed of your phone’s CPU beyond the limit specified by the manufacturer. You root your phone and flash (or install) certain software while reducing operating voltage speeds to get both performance and efficiency at the same time. What it translates to is faster processing speeds, extremely responsive interface and the ability to install applications not possible at rated clock speeds.

Now this guy had somehow managed to overclock his Explorer’s 600 Mhz processor to an astounding 1 Ghz while lowering the operating voltage to get optimum performance. He was running apps that could only run on high-end Smartphones without the slightest bit of lagging. Naturally, I started to question about whether my Smartphone could be over clocked from 1.2 Ghz to a feasible limit to which he nodded and even offered to take my phone home for the day to do it. The only reason I didn’t hand him the phone at the time was the lack of a second contact number. And honestly, that saved my handset.

Two months on, the same guy has upgraded to HTC One X. And that is because his Explorer died on him a few weeks after overclocking. There were constant heating issues and reduced battery life along with multiple errors which prompted him to fiddle with his phone even more. The harsh result, his CPU going completely dead with a system failure. Since then, I have gained considerable knowledge on Overclocking and Underclocking and even though I am not against it I would only suggest doing this zero-budget upgrading if you have substantial knowledge and are ready for the potential risks it holds. The biggest deterrent should be that overclocking voids manufacturer’s warranty as it is being operated well above the specified configuration. I would rather trust the manufacturer’s judgment on this as they only launch products after considerable R & D and are well aware of the capabilities and limitations of the key components in the Smartphone they have assembled.

