LG 3D TVLast time I spoke about the gadgets that make our lives easier; while today I want to talk about Mumbai and why I miss the city. First thing you miss about the city is the Sea and the unique weather. I know outsiders feel the city has humid and sticky weather but ask any Mumbaikar and he/she will tell you once you live in the city it gets in your blood. I have literally hundreds of photos that I snapped using my Canon camera and transferred to my Smartphone and Laptop since the memory card limitations of the camera being what it is. Using the smart app and Wi-Fi I transfer the same to my Cinema 3D TV and devour them for hours at an end. Be it Bandra Sea Link, Gateway of India, my alma mater Mithibai College or various clubs that dot the city.

To tell you the truth I couldn’t afford a 3D TV on my salary, but they were offering EMI with down payment and were also willing to accept credit card for the purchase so that was why I bought it. And the temptation to watch horror movies and cricket in 3D was too much for me to resist. Sometimes when I am just feeling too lazy to even boot up my laptop, I surf the net on my TV using the Magic Remote. Or simply play Angry Birds over it or browse and check the apps gallery – for hours!Mumbai Skyline

Things I like about Mumbai? Well there are too many; though a proud Parsi, I still love to go the Siddhivinayak Temple with my friends. And Juhu and Chowpatty beach. And I smile seeing the shocked faced of outsiders when they see a endless rows of bikes on way to Bandra sea link with boys & girls getting cozy oblivious of the surroundings. The crowds at CT, the Wada Pav, the rallies that bring the city to the standstill are all part of essential Mumbai as is the fast pace of life, traffic discipline and autos and taxi drivers that do not try to fleece you, unlike Delhi.

Too much has been said, written or filmed about the gangland aspect of the city; so much so that people half expect to see goons with guns roaming on the streets once they reached Mumbai! Take it from a Mumbaikar; this is farthest from the truth. In fact, the crime rate in the city is much lower than most Indian cities including Delhi, where the girls feel unsafe even during day, let alone night. No wonder that achievers and go getters from around the country are attracted by a magnet called Mumbai that always gives talented and hard working people their due. Be it an Akshay Kumar, Katrina Kaif, Shahrukh Khan or Amitabh Bachchan – Mumbai gave everyone a chance to turn their dreams into reality.

Rajesh Khanna - The Eternal SuperstarAnd the funeral of one of the outsiders who had become one of the city’s favorite son – Rajesh Khanna – the first and some say the biggest Superstar of Bollywood brought the entire city to a standstill. The biggest stars walked like ordinary people to give their tribute to Kaka who conquered the city in his death like he never did in his life or his last few years. Thought I watched it on my LG 3D TV which gave the sense of being there with its large screen, I still missed being there and pay may last respect. Saddened by his tragic demise and trying to understand the magic he created on the silver screen that entrance so many, I bought all the blu-ray disc I could of his movies and held my private retrospective of the phenomena called Rajesh Khanna.LG Wonder Door Refrigerator

With endless supply of Bacardi bottles from my Wonder door refrigerator whose front panel allows big stocking capactity, perhaps the best fridge of 2012 in India and steaming hot chicken; we girls watched his movies like Aradhana, Kati Patang, Amar Prem and even one of his little remembered early movies Raaz. I had to switch on 3D feature to convert the 2D movies in 3D. Although it is not as effective as watching a movie shot in 3D like Avatar, but it still works decently enough in my LG 3D TV and it showed why Jatin Khanna from a small city became a heartthrob and phenomena which he did in his avatar as Rajesh Khanna. For now, your friend Kitty kitten Nisha babi signing off until next time.

